Skip To Main Content

Teacher & Employee of the Year

2021-2022 Teachers of the Year


Mrs. Jennifer Pollitt

Mrs. Jennifer Pollitt

Jennifer Pollitt, a third grade teacher, has been part of the staff at Timothy Ball Elementary since her student teaching experience in 2008. She then moved to the position of Instructional Aide and became a classroom teacher in 2011. Beyond her successes in the classroom, Mrs. Pollitt also coordinates Spell Bowl, Math Bowl, and Lego Club. 

“Mrs. Pollitt works tirelessly to help each child grow academically...She forms meaningful relationships which help her know what each student needs emotionally and academically.” - Nicholas Ciochina, Principal, Timothy Ball Elementary

“During the ups and downs, and ins and outs, of COVID, Mrs. Pollitt has remained steady and calm. She is fantastic at communicating what needs to be done each day. As a parent, I truly appreciate how easily we could follow her online agendas. She continues to be encouraging. My son enjoys her as a teacher and is turning corners in areas he was behind in before.” - Laura Berry, Timothy Ball parent



Mr. Jeremy Walker

Mr. Jeremy Walker

Jeremy Walker is a Geometry teacher and Blended Learning Specialist at Crown Point High School. Mr. Walker has been part of the CPHS teaching staff since 1995. As part of his blended learning position, Mr. Walker has provided teachers, parents, and students with countless hours of help to navigate technology and learning in a non-traditional year. He is also a sponsor of the CPHS Latin Club. 

“Jeremy is a major contributor to our faculty. He leads several professional development sessions for our teachers, and our administrative team relies on him to provide leadership in the area of technology and technology-based instructional practices.” - Russ Marcinek, Principal, Crown Point High School

“The pandemic has been hard for everyone, and I know teachers in particular, have been pulled in so many new directions. As a parent, I’m grateful for Mr. Walker’s dedication. His commitment to teaching and to his students has had such a positive effect on my daughter. He was able to connect with her, and his enthusiasm and upbeat nature helped her day by day.” - Heather Cain, CPHS parent

The annual Teacher of the Year award is formally presented each year at the May board meeting. Recipients are then eligible to apply for the state of Indiana’s Teacher of the Year Award.

Teacher of the Year nominations are solicited from parents, teachers, and staff every February. Staff from each building then vote for a representative from the nominations. A review committee narrows the representatives to a list of finalists. The committee reviews finalists’ applications, letters of recommendation, and conducts interviews before choosing an elementary level teacher and a secondary level teacher.

This year’s finalists for the award included Amanda Kosiba (Winfield Elementary), Danielle Mulder (Lake St. Elementary), Jamie Edgington (Learning Center), Katie Rice (Solon Elementary), Melissa Donaldson (MacArthur Elementary), Nicole Sekulaski (Jerry Ross Elementary), Sarah Fritz (Eisenhower Elementary), Jill Vagner (Col. Wheeler Middle School), and Scott Reid (Taft Middle School).

Employee of the Year

The 2021-2022 Employee of the Year is Dana Torreano, the head of CPCSC’s school nurses. Dana has tirelessly worked to support all of our schools during the health and safety issues surrounding COVID. Our nurses helped complete the contact tracing when we received news of a positive case, which has made their jobs very difficult. Dana has been a leader to our nursing team throughout the year and an integral part of CPCSC’s response to COVID.

Finalists for this year's Employee of the Year were Chantel Pierce, ASC; Mike Carnahan, MacArthur Elementary.

Administrator of the Year

Our 2021-2022 Admin of the Year is Karin Toth, Director of Transportation. Karin has been with CPCSC for 23 years. She ensures that our drivers receive training, that routes are efficiently planned, and she works with parents to make sure students arrive to and from school safely. COVID challenges made transportation very difficult last year. Even on distance learning days, Karin had to configure transportation for distance learning students so they could take required state standardized tests. She also makes sure services are provided for students with disabilities or who are experiencing homelessness. Karin is planning to retire this year, but we thank her for her years of expertise and service for our students.

Mike Carnahan Spirit of a Bulldog Award

This special award recognizes an employee whose years of service leaves a long-lasting impact on students and the school community. Read more about CPCSC's Mike Carnahan Spirit of a Bulldog Award.